Connect with us

CAO Info

Levels 6, 7 and 8 on Your CAO Application Explained



Levels 6, 7 and 8 on Your CAO Application Explained

Levels 6, 7 and 8 on Your CAO Application Explained. As the CAO application deadline approaches on 1 Feb, 2024.It,s the closing date for one- time applications and 1 May,2024 is the closing date for late applications. Students are finalizing their course choices. In the dynamic landscape of academic results and points, it crucial to be well-prepared with multiple plans. Here’s a breakdown of Levels 6, 7, and 8 to help you make informed decisions. Check Also: CAO Status Check 

Consider All Options: Plan A, B, C, and D

No one can predict how results and points will unfold, emphasizing the importance of diversifying your choices. Avoid putting all your eggs in one basket and consider a range of options.

Level 6, 7, and 8: A Comprehensive Approach

When filling out your CAO application, explore Level 6, 7, and 8 courses. You have up to 10 choices at both Level 8 (honours degrees) and Level 7/6 (ordinary degrees and higher-certificate courses). Dismissing Level 7 and 6 courses can be a mistake, as many provide a pathway to Level 8 with additional study.

Maximize Your Opportunities

Applicants completing both Level 8 and Level 7/6 lists might receive two offers in August. This allows flexibility in choosing the most suitable option. Each list operates independently, resembling two applications in one.


Understanding Level 8 Courses

Level 8 denotes an honours degree, typically spanning four years. Some exceptions, like Medicine and Home Economics Teaching, may extend to five or six years. Minimum entry requirements usually include two H5 grades and four O6 grades.

See also  CAO Late Application Open Now For 2024

Decoding Level 7 Courses

A Level 7 is an ordinary degree, typically three years in duration. Entry requirements often comprise five O6/H7 grades. Many Level 7 courses offer an ‘add on’ year, enabling students to attain a Level 8 qualification with an extra year of study.

Exploring Level 6 Courses

Level 6 signifies a Higher Certificate, generally a two-year program. It can serve as a platform for progressing to Level 7/8 courses with lower entry requirements. Minimum entry requirements for Level 6 are typically five H7/O6 grades.

Fine-Tuning Your Choices

In the upcoming six weeks, meticulously organize your CAO choices. Prioritize courses based on genuine preference, not just points. Thoroughly research all choices, placing equal importance on lower preference courses.

Seeking Guidance

For personalized advice and support in completing your CAO application, contact McCullagh Careers at [email protected] or 0872120527. Ensure your choices align with your interests and aspirations for a fulfilling college experience.



As the CAO deadline nears, strategic planning is key. Embrace the versatility of Levels 6, 7, and 8, diversify your options, and conduct thorough research. Make informed decisions to shape a rewarding academic journey. For personalized guidance, reach out to McCullagh Careers.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *